bailey

QUICK FACTS: ✔️Good with other dogs (but prefers smaller ones)! ✔️Can free roam when alone! ✔️Good for beginner dog owner! ✔️Great with cats!

Corgi Mix|female|12 years old|13 lbs|Adoption Fee $200


Updates from Foster Home: 

Pupdate 2: Bailey is an older lady who's really got it going on! She's been through a lot of change in the last year but she's dealt with it like a champ. Through tumor removal, her first dental, learning the ropes in a house with two dogs each five times her size, and a sassy cat, she has handled each challenge calmly, and has prevailed! She even got used to having a good-sized back yard to sniff in, though I do admit I had to rescue her from a snow drift once this winter.

Bailey is calm and is unfazed by my cat. She shows no food aggression (even when  both the cat and the dogs steal from her). Her hearing isn't the best, though she readily responds to her name and clapping sounds, and her sight in her right eye is impaired. For this reason she should be approached from the front, slowly so as not to startle her. She has some arthritis and walks a bit stiffly, but her mobility has improved hugely since a benign tumor was removed from one leg. I've even seen her run! She likes being on a leash and would love some short walks and some loving by a family with gentle older children and friendly pets.

She is low energy, preferring a sleeping spot in the sun to the active life.  She does not like being picked up.

Pupdate 1: A typical day for Bailey: Get up, walk toward the back door, pee if I don't open it fast enough, go outside and pee, sniff around, come back in, wander around, take note of the food I put down, hang out some more while I'm active feeding/watering/medicating other pets. I often herd her away from the area where my big dogs are eating - she's been barked at once or twice for this transgression. Then maybe a nibble of kibble, ignore the wet food and snooze/eat/pee until I come back. She takes her time with the wet food, but likes it. The evening is the same as the morning. I recently rearranged my living room and now there's an area near a chair I like to sit in, with her dog bed. Now she doesn't have to walk by my big dogs to get to it so she's been hanging out by me in the living room. She definitely makes decisions about what she wants and doesn't want. She's ok being alone, but would rather be around the pack if it feels safe.

Around children she's mostly relaxed but a little wary. I think an older or very gentle child would be good for her. Bailey likes to hang out in the back yard. She would really enjoy a yard to sniff, and some short walks on a regular basis. She is good with other dogs, but wary if they are big. She actually seems to like cats, but has grown warier of mine after a 'correction' (from the cat). I think other animals that don't stress her would be a plus.

I really like her and will be sad to see her go, but I feel there is a really great fit out there for her. She'd be ok in a home with a person who's home all day and gives her attention, but I feel she would also benefit from gentle children and animals. She doesn't ask for anything, but I think she's more social than is necessarily apparent.